Café “De Dokter”, people use to say “Het Doktertje”, is founded on the of September 1798 by a surgeon of the hospital nearby “Binnengasthuis”and from that year on it was a pub by the family Beems. The sixth generation, Jannie and Jan Beems run this pub now for already fourty years.

After the start it became the local pub of the doctors and medical students of the City University nearby. Since thirty years this hospital is closed together with the “Wilhelmina Gasthuis”and both this hospitals became the Amsterdam Medical Center (AMC) at the edge of the city.


The Doctor is the smallest pub in Amsterdam and messures 18 m2. It has a unique atmosphere and decoration, with always the background music of jazz (Ella Fitzgerald, Billy Holiday and the great saxplayers of this time. A number of these famous artists and musicians knew how to find the Doctor through the years.

The Doctor is situated right in the inner city of Amsterdam, between the Spui with te Beguinehof and the Old City Orphanage, dating the Middleages, on one side, and Dam square, the former “Binnengasthuis”and the Allard Pierson Museum (Museum of old cultures) on the other side.


The pub is famous for its Brand beer from Limburg, the delicious house wines and the various assortment of whiskies. The whiskies are showed behind the bar. We have a house whisky for 5.25 Euro a glass and café The Doctor has a special offer, the whisky of the month, a beautiful glass of whisky of one of the six classic malt areas of Scotland, for the price of Euro 6.00.

As a side plate with the drinks we offer a portion of cheese or smoked beef sausage (an exclusive discovery of the owner) in combination with the famous Amsterdam pickles.


The family Beems invites you to our pub to come and see for yourself during a visit to our beautiful inner city of Amsterdam.

Lees de historie in het Nederlands